Faculty & Staff

Willard N. Harman, CLM
willard.harman@oneonta.edu
ext. 330

Distinguished Service Professor of Biology Rufus J. Thayer Chair for Otsego Lake Research Director, Biological Field Station

Responsible for BFS research, teaching, management, & resources.

Florian Reyda 
Professor of Biology
Parasitology of Fish, Invertebrate Zoology

florian.reyda@oneonta.edu
ext. 352

See Florian's faculty web page

Florian Reyda

Kiyoko Yokota, CLM
Associate Professor of Biology
Limnology, Phytoplankton Ecology

kiyoko.yokota@oneonta.edu

See Kiyoko's faculty web page

 

Kiyoko Yokota

Dan Stich
Assistant Professor of Biology
Fisheries management & decision making; fish population demographics; lake, pond and reservoir management

daniel.stich@oneonta.edu

See Dan's faculty web page

Dan Stich
On-Site Staff

Matthew F. Albright, CLM
Assistant to the Director, BFS
Responsible for limnological monitoring of Otsego Lake & watershed. Supervisor of laboratories & interns

matthew.albright@oneonta.edu
ext. 331

Nancy Devins
BFS Administrator; Field Trips Coordinator
Intern administration; Accounts; Coordinates Field Trips

nancy.devins@oneonta.edu 
ext. 332

Holly Waterfield, CLM
Research Support Specialist
Lake monitoring efforts; monitoring advanced wastewater treatment systems; water chemistry analysis; hydroacoustic surveys.

holly.waterfield@oneonta.edu
ext. 333

Jay Harrison
Maintenance Operations
Building Manager, Cooperstown Campus

jay.harrison@oneonta.edu
ext. 400

Ed Irwin
Maintenance Operations
General Mechanic, Cooperstown Campus

edward.irwin@oneonta.edu

Faculty involved in Research and Teaching

Donna Vogler
Professor of Biology
Plant Ecology, Conservation Biology

donna.vogler@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3705

Jeff Heilveil 
Professor of Biology, Biology Department Chair
Population genetics of aquatic invertebrates

jeffrey.heilveil@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3162

Leslie Hasbargen
Associate Professor, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Geomorphology, Fluvial Geology

leslie.hasbargen@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-2741

Sean Robinson

Sean Robinson 
Associate Professor of Biology
Botany, Bryophyte Reproduction and Ecology

sean.robinson@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3732

Volunteers

Earle Peterson
Greenwoods Administrator; BFS Volunteer
Head of Peterson Family Conservation Trust; Greenwoods benefactor

epete1850@aol.com

Contact

Main Laboratory
5838 State Hwy 80
Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone: 607-547-8778
Fax: 607-547-5114

THAYER FARM COMPLEX
Lakeside Farm & 
Upland Interpretive Center 
7027 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY
(physical address)

Thayer Boathouse
7016 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY

Rum Hill
Thurston Hill Rd.
Springfield, NY

Goodyear Swamp Sanctuary
7290 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY

Greenwoods Conservancy
824 Zachow Rd.
Hartwick, NY 13348

Upper Research Site
Averill Rd.
Cooperstown, NY