Faculty & Staff

Dr. Dawn Hamlin

Dr. Dawn Hamlin, Department Chair

Associate Professor
374F Fitzelle
Dawn.Hamlin@oneonta.edu
607-436-3526

Dr. Tasneem Amatullah

Dr. Tasneem Amatullah

Visiting Assistant Professor
347 Fitzelle
Tasneem.Amatullah@oneonta.edu
607-436-3739

Degrees

Ph. D. in Educational Leadership, Miami University, USA

Graduate Certificate in Assessment and Evaluation, Miami University, USA

Graduate Certificate in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Miami University, USA

M. Ed. in Educational Leadership, Qatar University, Qatar

M. Phil. in Home Science; Textiles & Clothing, University of Madras, India

M. Sc. in Home Science; Textile Science and Fashion Designing, University of Madras, India

B. Ed. General Education, Banasthali University, India

B. Sc. in Interior Design and Décor, University of Madras, India

Course History

EPSY 240: Child Growth and Development

EDUC 106: Issues, Philosophy, and Foundations of Education

EDUC 201: Diversity and Teaching

EDL 204: Socio-cultural Studies in Education (Miami University)

EDL 621: Foundations of Multicultural Education (Miami University)

Research Interests

Dr. Amatullah’s research centers on the issues of equity, social justice, women, leadership and policy analysis around the globe. Currently, she is expanding her research on Muslim women leadership narratives across the globe (Qatar, Canada, USA, and India) partially funded by the Research Foundation in SUNY. Along the lines of issues of access and equity, Dr. Amatullah recently proposed a study to evaluate teacher education students’ clinical experiences at SUNY Oneonta in response to the TeachNY implementation Fund: Teaching and Learning throughout the Clinical Practice Continuum.

Selected Publications

Amatullah, T. (2018). My Leadership Currere. Currere Exchange Journal, 2(2), 69-74.

Amatullah, T. (2017). Understanding by Design: From Opacity to Transparency. In T.S. Poetter, K. Waldrop, T. Amatullah, V. G. Winn, C. Weiland, J. Googins (Eds.) Curriculum Windows to tomorrow: What Curriculum Theorists of the 1990s Can Teach Us About Schools and Society Today? Charlotte, NC: Information Age Publishing, Inc.

Poetter, T. S., Waldrop, K., Amatullah, T., Winn, V. G., Weiland, C., & Googins, J. (Eds) (2017) Curriculum Windows to Tomorrow: What Curriculum Theorists of the 1990s Can Teach Us About Schools and Society Today? Charlotte, NC: Information Age Publishing, Inc.

Romanowski, M. H., & Amatullah, T. (2016). Applying Concepts of Critical Pedagogy to Qatar’s Educational Reform. Critical Questions in Education. The Academy for Educational Studies, 7(2), 77-95.

Aronson, B., Amatullah, T. & Laughter, J. (2016) Culturally Relevant Education: Extending the Conversation to Religious Diversity, Multicultural Perspectives, 18(3), 140-149, DOI: 10.1080/15210960.2016.1185609

Romanowski, M.H., & Amatullah, T. (2014). The impact of Qatar national professional standards: Teachers’ perspectives, International Journal of Research Studies in Education, Consortia Academia Publishing, 3(2), 97-114. DOI: 10.5861/ijrse.2014.664.

Dr. Brian Beitzel

Dr. Brian Beitzel

Professor
366 Fitzelle
Brian.Beitzel@oneonta.edu
607-436-3933

Dr. Carolyn Chryst

Dr. Carolyn Chryst

Assistant Professor
363 Fitzelle
Carolyn.Chryst@oneonta.edu
607-436-3537

Dr. Nithya Iyer

Dr. Nithya Iyer

Associate Professor
369 Fitzelle
Nithya.Iyer@oneonta.edu
607-436-3128

Dr. Nayoung Kim

Dr. Nayoung Kim

Assistant Professor
348 Fitzelle
Nayoung.Kim@oneonta.edu
607-436-3639

Donghun Lee

Dr. Donghun Lee

Assistant Professor
346 Fitzelle
Donghun.Lee@oneonta.edu
607-436-3711

Dr. Daqi Li

Dr. Daqi Li

Associate Professor
370 Fitzelle
Daqi.Li@oneonta.edu
607-436-2462

Dr. Mark Russell

Dr. Mark Russell

Lecturer
364 Fitzelle
Mark.Russell@oneonta.edu
607-436-3514

Dr. Anuradhaa Shastri

Dr. Anuradhaa Shastri

Professor
371 Fitzelle
Anu.Shastri@oneonta.edu
607-436-3727

Ms. Suzanne Swantak-Furman

Ms. Suzanne Swantak-Furman

Lecturer
245 Fitzelle
Suzanne.Swantak-Furman@oneonta.edu
607-436-2584

Dr. Ying Tang

Dr. Ying Tang

Associate Professor
343 Fitzelle
Ying.Tang@oneonta.edu
607-436-2343

Frank Thornton

Dr. Frank Thornton

Associate Professor
365 Fitzelle
Frank.Thornton@oneonta.edu
607-436-2892

Ms. Suzanne Brown

Ms. Suzanne Brown

Administrative Assistant 1
374 Fitzelle
Suzanne.Brown@oneonta.edu
607-436-3554

Contact Us

Department of Elementary Education & Reading
374 Fitzelle Hall
Phone 607-436-3176
Fax 607-436-3664
Kathleen Sherry, secretary


Department of Secondary Education
374 Fitzelle Hall
Phone 607-436-3075
Fax 607-436-3664
Suzanne Brown, secretary


Department of Educational Psychology, Counseling and Special Education
374 Fitzelle Hall
Phone 607-436-3554
Fax 607-436-3664
Suzanne Brown, secretary


Office of Education Advisement and Field Experiences
273 Fitzelle Hall
Phone 607-436-2538
Fax 607-436-3799
Jennifer Mancke, Secretary


Professional Education Unit
373 Fitzelle Hall
Phone 607-436-2541
Fax 607-436-2554

Back to top