Geography & Environmental Sustainability Awards & Scholarships

Award Recipients

James Reardon

Douglas Bartholomew
Sade Miller
Serena Zilinskas

Given by the National Council for Geographic Education
Jessica Serafini

Finn Ashworth
Kali Ticehurst

Scholarship Opportunities

Created by Helga R. Karker, class of 1955G, in memory of her father, Dr. Albert Reissner, this endowed scholarship for students majoring in environmental sciences with a demonstrated need for financial assistance was awarded for the first time in the fall of 1995. First preference is given to women who are Environmental Science Program majors. Selections are determined by the Financial Aid Office.

The Dr. John G. New Scholarship has been established in memory of Dr. New, who served our College as professor and chair of the Biology Department. Dr. New was an advocate for environmental awareness and a driving force in the establishment of our Biological Field Station in Cooperstown. The scholarship will be awarded to ecology, environmental sciences or biology students who have proven academic achievement, interest in research, and who advocate that economic progress be compatible with a quality environment.

In 1998, John Corry, Dr. Martha Corry's cousin, and other members of the Corry family established in her honor the endowed scholarship program known as the Dr. Martha L. Corry Scholarship. The scholarship was presented to her on her 80th birthday. Over the years the scholarship has provided financial help to geography majors with strong academic records. It continues to grow and will assist many geography majors into the future.

Back to top