Faculty & Staff

Renee Walker

Renee B. Walker, Ph.D.

Department Chair
121 Fitzelle
Phone: (607) 436-3599
E-Mail: Renee.Walker@oneonta.edu

Craig F. Bielert, Ph.D.

Craig F. Bielert, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology; Adjunct Professor of Anthropology
161 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3219
Craig.Bielert@oneonta.edu

Dr. Bielert is a psychobiologist with interests in psychoneuroendocrinology. He is interested in human/primate continuities and teaches psychology courses in areas overlapping psychology, biology and anthropology.

Michael Brown, Ph.D.

Michael Brown, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
144 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3558
Michael.Brown@oneonta.edu
Michael Brown's website

Michael Brown, Ph.D. (Associate Professor)
Dr. Brown is a social-cognitive psychologist. He studies decision-making and attitudes, particularly as they apply to issues involving gender, sexuality, and the law.

Charlene-Christie

Charlene Christie, Ph.D.

Professor
149 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3226
Charlene.Christie@oneonta.edu
Charlene Christie's website

Charlene Christie, Ph.D. (Professor)
Dr. Christie is a social psychologist. She researches stereotyping and prejudice, intergroup relations, social identity, and deviance.

Richard Kauffman

Richard Kauffman, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
151 Fitzelle
Phone: 607-436-3246
E-mail: Richard.Kauffman@oneonta.edu

Rick Kauffman, Ph. D. (Assistant Professor) is an evolutionary psychologist. His research emphasizes the utility of evolutionary theory as an applied science to inform evidence-based policy and practice at the individual, local and global scales, with a particular emphasis on education and prosocial communities.

Robert Kirk

Robert Kirk, Ph.D., C.D.P.

Assistant Professor
145 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3217
Robert.Kirk@oneonta.edu

Dr. Kirk is a developmental psychologist who specializes in adult development and aging. His interests include motivation, identity and self-consciousness, decision-making, emotional intelligence, stereotypes, online behavior, cannabis use, and successful aging.

Katherine S. Lau

Katherine S. L. Lau, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
172 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3214
Katherine.Lau@oneonta.edu
Dr. Lau's website

Dr. Lau is an applied developmental psychopathologist. Her research focuses on the development of personality and aggression, as well as racial health disparities in at-risk and juvenile-justice-involved youth.

Geoffrey O'Shea

Geoffrey O'Shea, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
120 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3257
Geoffrey.OShea@oneonta.edu

Dr. O’Shea is a cognitive psychologist whose research interests include memory, implicit learning, musical cognition, and cognitive neuroscience. He is the co-author, along with Dr. Mary Howes, of the book, Human Memory: A Constructivist View.

Ursula Sanborn-Overby, Ph.D.

Ursula Sanborn-Overby, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
148 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3230
Ursula.Sanborn-Overby@oneonta.edu

Dr. Sanborn-Overby is a developmental psychologist. She researches the development of gender cognitions: how children learn about gender and how peoples’ ideas about gender change over time.

Elio Santos

Elio Santos, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
147 Fitzelle Hall
Elio.Santos@oneonta.edu

Dr. Santos is a Cognitive Psychologist. His research interests include visual perception, motor control, eye movements, prediction, motion, psychophysics, and attention.

Yoko

Yoko Takagi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
146 Fitzelle Hall
(607) 436-3311
Yoko.Takagi@oneonta.edu

Dr. Takagi is a developmental psychologist. Her research involves moral development, cross-cultural studies of social and moral development, parenting and parent-child relations, and children’s play.

James Zians, Ph.D.

James Zians, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
122 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3261
James.Zians@oneonta.edu

Dr. James Zians is a clinical psychologist. His research involves the role of psychology in health promotion, prevention, and behavior change. His interests include mood disorders and Community Psychology.

Jill Grundfest

Jill Grundfest

Department Secretary
161 Fitzelle Hall
607-436-3223
Jill.Grundfest@oneonta.edu

Jill Grundfest serves as the Psychology Department Secretary. Jill started in the Admissions Office at SUNY Oneonta in 2010. She has been at Milne Library as Interlibrary Loan Clerk since 2012. She has an M.A. in Religious Studies from the University of Chicago. She is an environmentalist, a cat person, and an avid reader of mysteries and sci-fi.

Adjunct Faculty
James M. Bercovitz, Ph.D.

James M. Bercovitz, Ph.D.

Adjunct faculty member
JBercovitz@stny.rr.com

Dr. Jim Bercovitz is a licensed psychotherapist working in Oneonta. He has taught our course in abnormal psychology and a seminar in neuropsychology.

Cathy Harris, LMSW, LCSW

Cathy Harris, LMSW, LCSW

Adjunct faculty member
Cathy.Harris@oneonta.edu

Cathy Harris is a licensed social worker with experience in the fields of mental health, domestic violence, addictions, hospice and forensic social work. She is especially interested in group therapy for forensic clients. She teaches the Special Topics course on the Psychology of Family Violence.

Stephanie Poplock Ph.D., LCSW

Stephanie Poplock Ph.D., LCSW

Adjunct Faculty Member
Stephanie.Poplock@oneonta.edu

Dr. Stephanie Poplock is a licensed counseling psychologist and licensed clinical social worker. She is the Supervising Psychologist for Otsego County Mental Health Clinic, and the Deputy Director of Otsego County Community Services. Her primary clinical interests include adult psychopathology, with emphasis on effective, anxiety, and personality disorders. Her research interests include rural mental health and adult psychopathology. Dr. Poplock teaches courses in Personality Theory and Psychotherapy and Behavior Change.

Raphael Web

Raphael Web

Adjunct Faculty Member
Raphael.Web@oneonta.edu

Raphael Web has been a part of the SUNY Oneonta Community since 2000. Currently working in the IT department, Raphael previously worked as a behavior management specialist with developmentally disabled adults, as well as a daily living counselor with mentally ill adults in New York City. Raphael possesses a Masters of Arts in Clinical Psychology from Fairleigh Dickinson University, and a Bachelors of Arts in Psychology from SUNY Stony Brook.

Danielle Denny

Danielle Denny

Adjunct Faculty Member
Danielle.Denny@oneonta.edu

Danielle Denny has a Masters in Psychology and is currently employed by Bassett's Research Institute in Cooperstown. Her professional experiences include work in the fields of research, human services, and applied behavior analysis.

Patrick Hillis

Patrick Hillis, MS, MA, MS Ed.

Adjunct Faculty Member
Patrick.Hillis@oneonta.edu

Patrick Hillis earned Masters degrees in Creative Studies, Psychology, and Education. He worked in human services for twenty-five years serving people with developmental disabilities, mental health disabilities, and traumatic brain injuries. In addition to being on the faculty at two other New York State colleges, Patrick is a guest lecturer at Cornell University where he lectures on empathy to graduate engineering students.

Back to top