Faculty & Staff

Dr. Leanne Avery

 

Dr. Leanne Avery

Professor, Department Chair
333 Fitzelle
Leanne.Avery@oneonta.edu
607-436-3146

Dr. Suriati Abas

Dr. Suriati Abas

Assistant Professor
326 Fitzelle
Suriati.Abas@oneonta.edu
607-436-2339

Ann Fradkin-Hayslip

Dr. Ann Fradkin-Hayslip

Assistant Professor
329 Fitzelle
Ann.Fradkin-Hayslip@oneonta.edu
607-436-3229

Dr. Gwen Frank

 

Dr. Gwen Frank

Associate Professor
328 Fitzelle
Gwen.Frank@oneonta.edu
607-436-3420

Penina Kamina

Dr. Penina Kamina

Professor
325 Fitzelle
Penina.Kamina@oneonta.edu
607-436-3894

Dr. Anita Levine

Dr. Anita Levine

Associate Professor
332 Fitzelle
Anita.Levine@oneonta.edu
607-436-3183

Ms. Robbielynn Maney

 

Ms. Robbielynn Maney

Lecturer
Mohawk-Valley Community College
Robbielynn.Maney@oneonta.edu
607-436-3176

Dr. Zanna McKay

 

Dr. Zanna McKay

Associate Professor
327 Fitzelle
Zanna.McKay@oneonta.edu
607-436-2477

Ms. Jacqueline Myers

Ms. Jacqueline Myers

Lecturer
328 Fitzelle
Jacqueline.Myers@oneonta.edu
607-436-3517

Dr. Sasha Ramlal

 

Dr. Sasha R. Ramlal

Associate Professor
330 Fitzelle
Sasha.Ramlal@oneonta.edu
607-436-3000

Dr. Barbara Vokatis

Associate Professor
334 Fitzelle
Barbara.Vokatis@oneonta.edu
607-436-3093

Dr. Barbara Vokatis is an Associate Professor in our department. She is a native of Poland. She completed her BA in English at Foreign Language Teachers College, Bielsko-Biala, Poland. She also holds two Master’s degrees: MA in English from the University of Silesia, Katowice, Poland and MS in Literacy B-12, from University at Albany. She completed her doctoral studies in Reading (Literacy) through University at Albany.

Dr. Vokatis’s research and teaching addresses two innovative fields: children’s knowledge building across various disciplines in creative learning spaces and the development of online literacy clinic courses. She is also a self-published author in the area of dog therapy and co-creator of a new type of app, the Carmel App, that hosts her therapy dog books, children's games related to dog therapy, and a virtual way of experiencing dog therapy. The app also serves as a publishing house for other children's book authors.

With the expertise of teaching literacy clinics in various settings (on campus and in public school settings), she transferred them to an online format and sought grants to implement her course design to include the voices and expertise of classroom literacy coaches to augment her online clinic courses. As a result, SUNY Oneonta is the first campus in the SUNY system offering online literacy Master’s. She has also published articles in an international journal, Journal of Literacy Practice & Research, that reflect this complex process. In regards to the inquiry, she has published her research on the identity of innovative teachers who teach inquiry in an international journal focused on research on edge-cutting practices, Frontline Learning Research.

Her current research area involves innovative inquiry teaching and learning at the elementary level and learning in online literacy clinics, and children's experiences of dog therapy.

Website: https://barbaravokatis.web.app

Courses taught by Dr. Barbara Vokatis

EDUC 235, Reading and Literacy I (Pre-methods, Undergraduate Level)
EDUC 641, Literacy Coaching and Assessment Practicum B-6 (Graduate Level)
EDUC 636, Literacy Coaching and Assessment (Graduate Level)
EDUC 631, Writing Process in Literacy programs (Graduate Level)

Dr. Xuexue Yang

Dr. Xuexue Yang

Assistant Professor
333 Fitzelle
Xuexue.Yang@oneonta.edu
607-436-3092

TBD

Administrative Assistant 1
374 Fitzelle

607-436-3176

Back to top