Faculty & Staff

Full Time Faculty and Staff

Andrea Fallon-Korb

Andrea Fallon-Korb

Lecturer
134 Physical Science Building
Andrea.Korb@oneonta.edu
607-436-3604

Andrea Fallon-Korb has taught at SUNY Oneonta since 2017 and specializes in sport psychology. She is the founder of Aspire Performance Coaching where she travels the country providing sport psychology consulting services for individuals, teams, and athletic departments. She has been providing mental toughness training since 2008. Prior to founding Aspire, she coached both basketball and volleyball at the collegiate level. Andrea also assists teams and individual athletes within SUNY Oneonta’s athletic department improve their performance using sports psychology principles. She currently conducts research exploring the disconnection between college coaches and athletes around mental toughness.

Andrea has an M.Ed. in Kinesiology with an emphasis in Sports Psychology from the University of Minnesota, an M.S.W. in clinical social work from Boston University, and is a New York State Licensed Masters’ of Social Work (L.M.S.W.). Fallon-Korb earned her B.A. in psychology from Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota.


Kimberly Fierke

Dr. Kimberly Fierke

Assistant Professor and Department Chair
200 Chase Building
Kim.Fierke@oneonta.edu
607-436-3563

Kim Fierke, Assistant Professor for Sport Management, is a 23-year veteran of NCAA Division III programs where she has served as a student-athlete, assistant coach, head coach and administrator. She comes to SUNY Oneonta from Hartwick College where she served as Director of Athletics and Chair of Physical Education since 2010. From 2005-2010, she was the Director of Athletics and Physical Education at Salem College in North Carolina. Prior to her appointment at Salem, Kim served as Assistant Athletic Director and Women’s Basketball Head Coach at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. She received her Doctor of Education degree in Leadership from Saint Mary’s University and her Master’s degree in Sports Management from Western Illinois University. She is and has been active on NCAA, NADIIIAA, and NACWAA national committees as well as local boards and community committees.


John Magliocca

Dr. John Magliocca

Assistant Professor
135 Physical Science Building
john.magliocca@oneonta.edu
607-436-

John Magliocca is an Assistant Professor at SUNY Oneonta with a specialization in Sport Management. Throughout his career, John has acquired sport industry experience working in external relations with Niagara University’s NCAA Division-I athletics programs, as well as in marketing and promotions with the AAA-level Buffalo Bisons baseball club. His research interests include addressing inequities in intercollegiate athletics and the holistic care of student-athletes.
John is from Rochester, NY and has earned degrees from West Virginia University (Bachelors of Multidisciplinary Studies), Niagara University (M.S. in Sport Management) and the University of Tennessee-Knoxville (PhD with a Sport Studies concentration).

Lisa Rusch

Lisa Rusch

Assistant Professor
219 Chase Building
lisa.rusch@oneonta.edu
607-436-

Lisa Rusch, Assistant Professor for Exercise Science, is a clinical exercise physiologist certified by the American College of Sports Medicine with a diversity of both teaching and practical experiences in the health and fitness field. Prior to teaching, she developed and directed a cardiac rehabilitation program for a cardiologist’s office and a wellness program for a local community hospital. She then taught for 11 years at SUNY Morrisville, developing their first Bachelors of Science degree in Human Performance and Health promotion. As part of this program, she oversaw the opening and directorship of a program-associated wellness center which provided her students practical hands-on experience working with patients and clients. To expand her expertise in health and physical activity to encompass both individual and population level work, she accepted a fully funded position in the University of Connecticut’s doctoral program in Public Health in 2013. She is currently ABD (All But Dissertation) with plans to complete her PhD in 2021. The year prior to coming to SUNY Oneonta, she taught at Denison University in Granville, Ohio as a Visiting Assistant Professor in their developing Health, Exercise and Sport Studies program. She strives to educate young adults on the universal power of physical activity to improve both physical and mental health, hoping to motivate these future leaders to positively change the world through exercise and fitness.

Helen Van Houten

Ms. Helen Van Houten

Administrative Assistant 1
200 Chase Building
Helen.VanHouten@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Helen Van Houten has an A.A.S degree in Individualized Studies – Accounting from SUNY Delhi. She started at SUNY Oneonta in September 1997 and has been with the (formerly) Physical Education Department/(now) Department of Sport & Exercise Sciences ever since. She has twice been recognized by SUNY Oneonta’s Employee Recognition Program for Sustained Excellence in Performance, an award given to those who have consistently demonstrated excellence at their jobs for a minimum of five years.


Part Time Faculty

Kathy Ashe

Kathy Ashe

Adjunct Lecturer
219 Chase Building
Kathy.Ashe@oneonta.edu
607-436-3536

Valerie Bolger

Valerie Bolger

Adjunct Lecturer
211B Chase Building
Valerie.Bolger@oneonta.edu
607-436-3597

Ian Byrne

Iain Byrne

Lecturer
308 Alumni Field House
Iain.Byrne@oneonta.edu
607-436-2102

Cameron Conover

Cameron Conover

Lecturer
304 Alumni Field House
Cameron.Conover@oneonta.edu
607-436-3280

Ashley Coyle

Ashley Coyle

Lecturer
307 Alumni Field House
Ashley.Coyle@oneonta.edu
607-436-2145

Mack Culpepper

Mack Culpepper

Adjunct Lecturer
200 Chase Building
Mack.Culpepper@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Sara Curran-Headley

Sara Curran-Headley

Adjunct Lecturer
201 Chase Building
Sara.Headley@oneonta.edu
607-436-3590

Patrick Elliott

Patrick Elliott

Adjunct Lecturer
219 Chase Building
Patrick.Elliott@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Michael Freilich

Michael Freilich

Adjunct Lecturer
307 Alumni Field House
Michael.Freilich@oneonta.edu
607-436-3280

Ben Grimm

Ben Grimm

Adjunct Lecturer
102 Chase Building
Ben.Grimm@oneonta.edu
607-436-2661

Matthew Hazzard

Matthew Hazzard

Adjunct Lecturer
200 Chase Building
Matthew.Hazzard@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Richard Marcello

Richard Marcello

Adjunct Lecturer
209 Alumni Field House
Richard.Marcello@oneonta.edu
607-436-2436

Lonnie Mitchel

Lonnie Mitchel

Adjunct Lecturer
101 Chase Building
Lon.Mitchel@oneonta.edu
607-436-3348

Diana Nicols

Diana Nicols

Adjunct Lecturer
200 Chase Building
dbnicols@yahoo.com
607-436-3595

Courtney Place

Courtney Place

Adjunct Lecturer
219 Chase PE Building
Courtney.Place@oneonta.edu
607-436-3536

Christopher Popovici

Christopher Popovici

Adjunct Lecturer
200 Chase Building
Christopher.Popovici@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Duane Ritter

Duane Ritter

Adjunct Lecturer
106G Chase Building
Duane.Ritter@oneonta.edu
607-436-2100

Ralph Ritton

Ralph Ritton

Adjunct Lecturer
200 Chase Building
Ralph.Ritton@oneonta.edu
607-436-3595

Chris Schuler

Chris Schuler

Adjunct Lecturer
104 Chase Building
Chris.Schuler@oneonta.edu
607-436-2505

Andrew Spence

Andy Spence

Adjunct Lecturer
209 Chase Building
Andrew.Spence@oneonta.edu
607-436-2612

Back to top