Funding Opportunities & Awards

Faculty Development Funds Overview

For information regarding individual awards, please scroll down.

Community of Scholars

The Community of Scholars (COS) honors faculty research and other scholarly/creative work, recognizing publications (books, book chapters, peer-reviewed journal articles and creative/other published works), professional contributions to the arts, and external grant awards. This fall’s COS showcase will honor faculty accomplishments for the period of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 and include the full listing of honorees and a presentation by the Scholar of the Year.

COS listing of honorees; Scholars of the Year; Part-time, Innovative Pedagogy, Outstanding Lecturer awards

View Presentation

Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Academic Excellence

Created to recognize faculty achievement outside the classroom, the Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Academic Excellence is named in memory of the late SUNY Oneonta professor of English. This award is made possible by an endowment created through the generosity of Dr. Thomas and Mrs. Mary Smith in memory of their daughter, Susan, and in honor of her commitment to academic excellence.

Susan Sutton Smith Award Details

Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Academic Excellence Award Winners
John Relethford 1995 Anthropology
P. Jay Fleisher 1996 Earth Sciences
Peter DiNardo 1997 Psychology
Lawrence Guzy 1998 Psychology
Carleton Clay 1999 Music
June Edwards 2000 Education
Robert Jackson 2001 History
James Devlin 2002 English
Williams Simons 2003 History
Richard Frost 2004 English
Paul Lilly 2005 English
Donna Vogler 2006 Biology
Alexander Thomas 2007 Sociology
Ho Hon Leung 2008 Sociology
Michael Green 2009 Philosophy
William Ashbaugh 2010 History
Rob Compton 2011 ALS/Political Science
Orlando Legname 2012 Music
Brian Haley 2013 Anthropology
Cynthia Falk 2014 Cooperstown Graduate Program
Joseph Pignato 2015 Music
Susan Bernardin 2016 English
Florian Reyda 2017 Biology
Matthew Hendley 2018 History
Tracy Betsinger 2019 Anthropology
Melissa Lavin 2020 Sociology
Gretchen Sorin 2021 Cooperstown Graduate Program

Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence

The Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence is named in memory of Richard K. Siegfried, SUNY Oneonta Professor of Theatre from 1958 until 1995. Professor Siegfried (or Sieg as generations of students fondly called him) epitomized excellence in his academic life through imagination, meticulous scholarship and discipline, and through his expectation of the same pursuit of excellence in his students and colleagues. Created to recognize faculty achievement outside the classroom, this award is made possible by generous gifts from Alumni to the Fund for Oneonta and to the College at Oneonta Foundation.

Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Award Details

Richard Siegfried Award Winners
Achim Koeddermann 1995 Philosophy
Gladys Jimenez-Munoz 1996 Foreign Languages
Deborah Prosser 1997 Cooperstown Graduate Program
Robert Jackson 1998 History
Nancy Bachman 1999 Biology
Donald Allison, Jr. 2000 Mathematical Sciences
Hugh A. Gallagher, Jr. 2001 Physics & Astronomy
L. Jean Palmer-Mooney 2002 Geography
Matthew Hendley 2003 History
Tom Horvath 2004 Biology
Benjamin Dixon 2005 Geography
Renee Walker 2006 Anthropology
Christine Quail 2007 Comm. Arts
Brian Lowe 2008 Sociology
Devin Castendyk 2009 Earth Sciences
Jacqueline Bennett 2010 Chemistry & Biochem.
Ibram Rogers 2011 ALS/History
Tracy Betsinger 2012 Anthropology
William Walker 2013 Cooperstown Graduate Program
Toke Knudsen 2014 Mathematics
Andrew Gallup 2015 Psychology
Kristen Blinne 2016 Communication & Media
Tyra Olstad 2017 Geography & Sustainability
Andrew Bottomley 2018 Communication & Media
Daniel Stich 2019 Biology
Howard Ashford 2020

Africana and Latinx Studies

Alanna Rudzik 2021 Anthropology

Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva (Compassionate Service) Faculty Award

Created to recognize faculty service both in and outside the classroom, the Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva Faculty Award is made possible by an endowment from Dr. Ashok Kumar Malhotra, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of Philosophy, to the College at Oneonta Foundation. Criteria for receiving the $1,000 award include: community service -- locally, nationally, or internationally, the ability to motivate and inspire others to perform community service, and the integration of community service in the teaching and learning process.

Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva Award Details

Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva (Compassionate Service) Award Winners
Wendy Mitteager 2008 Inaugural Geography
Alison Black and Jane Miller 2009 Elementary Ed. & Reading
Karen Joest 2010 Human Ecology
Cindy Falk 2011 Cooperstown Graduate Program
Zanna McKay 2012 Elementary Ed. & Reading
Maria Montoya 2013 Foreign Language
Rosemarie Avanzato 2014 Human Ecology
Gina Keel 2015 Political Science
Steve Walsh 2016 Management, Marketing, and Information
Brett Heindl 2017

Political Science

Alejandra Escudero 2018 Foreign Languages & Literature
Kristen Blinne 2019 Communication & Media
Jacqueline Bruscella 2020

Communication & Media

Gayane Torosyan 2021

Communication & Media

Ceremony Recording

Simphiwe Hlatshwayo Award for Outstanding Part-time Instructor

The Simphiwe Hlatshwayo Award for the Outstanding Part-Time Instructor, which comes with a $500 cash prize, was created by the College Senate to recognize outstanding adjunct instructors as well as to encourage excellence in teaching. The award was named to honor the memory of Simphiwe Hlatshwayo, who was a graduate of SUNY Oneonta from South Africa and taught at SUNY Oneonta first as an adjunct, then later as an assistant professor.

Simphiwe Hlatshwayo Award Winners
Name Year Department
Richard Lee 1998 English
Kevin Ickey 1999 Women's and Africana & Latino Studies
Kathleen Gordon 2000 Business Economics
Kathryn Finin (English) and David Richards (History) 2001 English/History
Lisa Gordon 2002 Math
Anne Traitor 2003 History
Dan Patrone 2004 Philosophy
Lynn Talbot 2005 Math
Stephen Rice 2006 English
Marjorie Pietraface 2007 Human Ecology
Carolyn McCruden 2008 Physics & Astronomy
Eric Schelimmer 2009 Physical Education
Bambi Lobdell 2010 English/Women's & Gender Studies
Michelle Garner 2011 Theatre/Physical Education
Paul Lord 2012 Environmental Sciences
Cynthia Flink 2013 Anthropology
April Ford Spring 2017 English
Katie Boardman Fall 2017 Cooperstown Graduate Program
Traci Michele Johnson 2018 Foreign Languages & Literature
Nicole Weigel 2019 Anthropology
Matthew Avitabile 2019 History

Innovative Pedagogy Award

The Innovative Pedagogy Award, which comes with a $500 cash prize, was created by the Office of the Provost to recognize and reward faculty who have developed and utilized innovative pedagogy in one or more of their courses. Innovative pedagogy includes practices that compel students to use critical thinking and reflection, that cause students to re-examine their assumptions and perspectives, that enhance student engagement and learning, which may include the use of technology in novel ways, and that engage students in high-impact practices.

Innovative Pedagogy Award Details

Outstanding Lecturer Award

The Outstanding Lecturer Award, which comes with a $500 cash prize, was created by the Office of the Provost to recognize outstanding lecturers as well as to encourage excellence in teaching.

Outstanding Lecturer Award Details


To view past presentations, please click here.

Back to top