President's Council on Diversity

The Council's Charge

The President’s Council on Diversity was established in 2003 to move the college forward in creating a welcoming and bias-free environment.

The Council continues its work toward valuing differences, fostering inclusion and supporting excellence; and has accepted the following charge:

  1. To advise the president on issues regarding campus diversity and campus climate;
  2. To collaborate with administrative units in collecting and analyzing qualitative and quantitative institutional diversity data, including periodic campus climate surveys;
  3. To contribute to the development of diversity initiatives in key campus-wide planning documents, and to identify best practices that would assist in effective implementation;
  4. To serve as a resource for faculty, staff, departments, and senior administrators in their efforts to incorporate principles of diversity and inclusion in hiring, retention, curriculum, teaching, and campus life;
  5. To assist in creating a welcoming and inclusive campus culture and climate for all members of the campus community; and
  6. To produce an annual report of the Council’s work, including a reflection on the status of diversity at SUNY Oneonta.

Conversation on Diversity

The major objective of the President’s Conversation on Diversity is to bring the entire campus together to understand and act upon the key issues associated with student, faculty and staff diversity. Representatives from every department on campus are invited to a conference that is held twice each year with a diversity-related theme that will change from year to year.

Each fall, the conference features an outside speaker who will provide expert insights regarding the theme for the year. Following the speaker’s presentation, the faculty and staff engage in a variety of hands-on activities and also develop ideas for longer-term projects relevant to the theme. The teams are asked to go out into the campus community and execute the projects over the next several months. The results from the projects are reported and discussed for follow-up at the spring conference.

Back to top