Faculty-Led Programs

""
""

SUNY Oneonta offers a variety of short-term, faculty-led programs throughout the year that vary by location, department and cost. These are courses taught by SUNY Oneonta faculty for credit abroad and include coursework, cultural experiences, and often service learning opportunities. Typically, a faculty-led program takes place during breaks, either Summer, Winter, or Spring, and can last anywhere from 1 to 4 weeks. These programs give students the opportunity to learn in a completely new setting, and often on unique subject matters not regularly offered on campus.

For Interested Students: To schedule an advising meeting with a Study Abroad Professional or Peer Advisor, click the button below:

SCHEDULE STUDY ABROAD MEETING

To See Program Info and Apply for a Faculty-Led Program Abroad:

See FACULTY-LED Program Offerings & ApplY!

When in our OIE Global Portal - click on "Programs" and type in the Faculty-Led Program Name in the search bar. Then click on the Program to see details and to apply.

For SUNY Oneonta Faculty Interested in Running a Program:

Faculty-Led programs abroad are a professional development opportunity and can provide a unique format for collaboration with overseas colleagues and partners.
The deadline for program proposals to run in Winter 2021, Summer 2021 has closed. To begin the set-up and logistical process for potential programs in the future, contact Kate Stanley, Director of International Education!
Email: Katherine.Stanley@oneonta.edu
Phone: 607.436.2461

Summer 2020

China

Flag of China

Course: HUEC 394: Fashion & Textiles Industries of China 
Credits: 3 each 
Travel Dates: May 2020 (1.5 weeks)
Contact:  Dr. Bharath Ramkumar, Bharath.Ramkumar@oneonta.edu
                Dr. Sarah Portway, Sarah.Portway@oneonta.edu

Finland

Finland flag

 

 

 

Course: EDUC 304: Cross-Cultural Comparisons of Educational Systems 
Credits: 3 
Travel Dates: May 2020 (1.5 weeks)
Contact: Dr. Ann Fradkin-Hayslip, Ann.Fradkin-hayslip@oneonta.edu
                Dr. Jennifer Flores, Jennifer.Flores@oneonta.edu

Guatemala

Guatemala-Flag

Course: GEOG 385 (Cross-listed with ENVS & GEOL): Water and the Environment of Guatemala 
Credits: 3 
Travel Dates: May 2020 (2 weeks) 
Contact: Dr. Tracy Allen, Tracy.Allen@oneonta.edu

 

Japan

Flag of japan

 

 

 

Course: ARTH 200: The Language of the Visual Arts
Credits: 3
Travel Dates: May 2020 (1.5 weeks)
Contact:  Dr. Pearlie Baluyut, Pearlie.Baluyut@oneonta.edu
                Dr. Katherine Spitzhoff, Katherine.Spitzhoff@oneonta.edu

Peru

Peru flag

 

 

 

Course: BIOL 394: Tropical Biology Field Course
Credits: 1
Travel Dates: May - June 2020 (3 weeks)
Contact:  Dr. Florian Reyda, Florian.Reyda@oneonta.edu
                Dr. Donna Vogler, Donna.Vogler@oneonta.edu

Peru

Peru Flag

 

 

 

Course: FAMS 300/EDUC 294: Cultural Immersion & Service Learning
Credits: 3-6
Travel Dates: May - June 2020 (2 weeks)
Contact:  FAMS 300: Dr. Karen Joest, Karen.Joest@oneonta.edu
                EDUC 294: Dr. Gwen Frank, Gwen.Frank@oneonta.edu

United Kingdom

Flag of United Kingdom

Course: PHIL 206: The Philosophy of Life and Death - England, Wales and Scotland
Credits: 3
Travel Dates: May - June 2020 (4 weeks)
Contact: Dr. Daniel Patrone, Daniel.Patrone@oneonta.edu

Winter 2020

Bahamas

Bahamas flag
 

 

 

Course: BIOL 394: Tropical Flora of The Bahamas 
Credits: 1 
Travel Dates:
December 28, 2019 – January 10, 2020 
Contact: Tami LaPilusa, Tami.LaPilusa@oneonta.edu 
                Dr. Sean Robinson, Sean Robinson@oneonta.edu 

India

India flag
 

 

 

Course: PHYS 294/ENVS 294: Sustainable Development in India 
Credits: 3
Travel Dates:
January 3, 2019 – January 13, 2020 
Contact: Dr. Sunil Labroo, Sunil.Labroo@oneonta.edu
                Dr. James Mills, James.Mills@oneonta.edu 

Tenerife (Canary Islands)

Spain flag
 

 

 

Course: SMUS 588: Museums, Landscapes, and Society in the Canary Islands (Cooperstown Graduate Program Only)
Credits: 1 
Travel Dates:
January 2, 2020 – January 13, 2020 
Contact: Dr. Erik Stengler, Erik.Stengler@oneonta.edu
                Dr. Tyra Olstad, Tyra.Olstad@oneonta.edu

Winter 2019

Japan

Flag of japan

 

 

 

Course: Biology 271: Global Study in Conservation & Sustainability
Credits: 2
Travel Dates: December 26, 2018 – January 13, 2019
Contact: Dr. Kiyoko Yokota, kiyoko.yokota@oneonta.edu

For more information about Faculty-Led Programs contact:

Kate Stanley
Email: Katherine.Stanley@oneonta.edu
Phone: 607.436.2461

Back to top